Paleo Pad Thai

pad thai

Okay so I cannot say this is “authentic” pad thai because I honestly have no idea and I don’t think I’ve had pad thai more than 2 times in my life, but I would imagine this is pretty close, give or take a few ingredients….

For the actual sauce, I used:

  • 1/4 cup liquid aminos
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 5 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp garlic
  • splash of hot sauce (i used cholula…obviously thats not asian)
  • salt and pepper to taste

For the meal:

  • 1 large sweet potato, spiralized into noodles
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 large chicken breats, cubed before cooking
  • the sauce from above
  • bean sprouts
  • i forgot the green onions last night–but sprinkle these on top at the end
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 3 tbsp pine nuts (very random but they were in my pantry)

Heat 1 tbsp coconut oil in a large pan on medium-high heat, and cook the sweet potato noodles until tender. I seasoned mine with some salt and pepper as I was cooking and also splashed a little aminos in there too. When they’re done, put on a plate and cover so they stay warm.

Then, heat the other 1 tbsp of coconut oil over medium heat and put all the chicken cubes in there, and cover. Cook the chicken on the first side for about 5 minutes or until browned, and then flip them all and do the same. Then, add the sauce, reduce to low heat, cover and simmer for about 15 minutes. Then, add the tbsp of coconut flour into a liquidy area and whisk it in so the sauce thickens. Turn heat back up to medium and cover, and cook for 5 more minutes. The sauce should be thickened now. Add the pine nuts. Here is where I threw in the bean sprouts, like 1 big handful, and stirred them around with the chicken and sauce for about 3 minutes because I like mine crunchy so longer if you want them soft. Then, serve the chicken and sprouts over the sweet potato noodles. (add the green onions if you don’t forget like I did). I also splashed a little coconut aminos in at the end before I ate.

It was yummmyyyyyy!!!

Leave a Reply

